Department Of National Botanic Gardens


You are here:Home
Department of National Botanic Gardens
Being established in the early nineteenth century, the National Botanic Gardens are a pioneering botanical institution in Sri Lanka. The Royal Botanic Gardens, Peradeniya (1821); Botanic Gardens in Hakgala (1861) and Botanic Gardens, Henarathgoda, Gampaha (1876) were established by the British to conduct experiments on exotic economic plants and explore plant wealth in the colony.

To become the scientifically and aesthetically finest Botanic Gardens in the Tropics by 2015, while becoming the pivotal institution for ex-situ conservation of Sri Lankan plants and providing maximum contribution to the economic growth of the country.

To provide opportunities for the public to study, sustainably conserve, and admire plant resources in natural and man-made environments.


Main Gardens

image   image  
image   image  

Other Gardens

image   image  
image   image